CU's Ketterer Sweeps Alpine Races, RMISA Teams 1-3

Friday, March 10, 2017 • by Brooke Fredrickson, RMSIA

FRANCONA, N.H.—Coloradoís David Ketterer won the menís slalom to complete the sweep of the alpine events as the NCAA Championships on Friday, as Denver, Utah and Colorado rank first, second and third respectively in the team standings going into the final day of racing.

Denver took over the team lead with a solid alpine day and has 419 points. Utah stands second with 384.5 points while Colorado ranks third with 377 points.

Ketterer won seven races this season for the Buffs. Denverís Eric Read finished third while Utahís Endre Bjertness was fifth, with all three earning first-team All-America honors. Coloradoís Max Luukko was also in the top 10, finishing eighth for second-team All-America. Colorado had a race-high 80 points on the day. Ketterer, Read and Luukko earned All-America honors in both the slalom and giant slalom at the championships.

For the women, Denverís Andrea Komisc was the top finisher in second. The Pioneers Monica Huebner finished fourth to help give DU a race-high 83 points. Coloradoís Nora Christensen placed fifth for her first All-America honor of the championships. Montana State also placed two skiers in the top 10 with Benedicte Lyche in seventh and Stephanie Gartner in 10th. Utahís Roni Remme was also in the top 10, placing eighth. Komsic, Huebner, Lyche, Remme and Gartner all also earned All-America honors in the giant slalom on Wednesday.

The NCAA ski championships conclude on Saturday, March 11, with the womenís 15-km and menís 20-km freestyle races. The menís race begins at 10:00 a.m. ET/8:00 a.m. MT with the women at 12:00 p.m. ET/10:00 a.m. MT.

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek