Colorado's Ketterer, MSU's Lyche Win Individual Titles

Wednesday, March 8, 2017 • by Brooke Frederickson, RMISA

FRANCONA, N.H.—Colorado's David Ketterer and Montana State's Benedicte Lyche won the NCAA giant slalom titles on the first day of the NCAA Championships, hosted by New Hampshire at Cannon Mountain. Montana State leads the meet with 149 points while four RMISA teams are in the top five.

Overall, nine women and seven men earned All-America honors from the RMISA.

In the men's race, Ketterer shot from sixth to first with the fastest second run of the day. Utah's Sam Dupratt finished second - he led after the first run. It was both skiers NCAA debut. Denver's Erik Read was also in the top five, finishing fifth. The Utes led all teams in the race with 79 points behind Dupratt's second, Joergen Brath in eighth and Endre Bjertness in 12th. Colorado and Montana State also had two skiers in the top 10. Colorado's Max Luukko finished ninth, while the Bobcats had Addison Dvoracek (seventh) and Garret Driller (10th) in the top 10.

For the women, the Lyche became the fourth woman in MSU skiing to win an NCAA title. The Bobcats took the top two spots and the RMISA swept the top five places in the race. MSU's Stephanie Gartner finished second with Utah's Roni Remme in third. Denver took the next two places as Tuva Norbye placed fourth and Andrea Komsic finished fifth. Montana State and Denver tied for the race lead with 85 points. The Pioneers also had Monica Hubner place in the top 10, finishing seventh. The Utes Chloe Fausa crossed the line eighth. New Mexico's Karolina Myklebust (ninth) and Katharine Irwin (tied for 10th) rounded out the All-Americans.

The Nordic teams get in on the action on Thursday, March 9, with the women's 5-km and men's 10-km classical races. The women are slated to go off at 10 a.m. ET/8:00 a.m. MT with the men's race at 11:30 a.m. ET/9:30 a.m. MT.

Live Timing:
Championship Central:

Women’s Giant Slalom All-Americans
Benedicte Lyche, Montana State – First Team
Stephanie Gartner, Montana State – First Team
Roni Remme, Utah – First Team
Tuva Norbye, Denver – First Team
Andrea Komsic, Denver – First Team
Monica Hubner, Denver – Second Team
Chloe Fausa, Utah – Second Team
Karoline Myklebust, New Mexico – Second Team
Katharine Irwin, New Mexico –Second Team

Men’s Giant Slalom All-Americans
David Ketterer, Colorado – First Team
Sam Dupratt, Utah – First Team
Erik Read, Denver – First Team
Addison Dvoracek, Montana State – Second Team
Joergen Brath, Utah – Second Team
Max Luuko, Colorado – Second Team
Garret Driller, Montana State – Second Team

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek