UAA's Field, MSU's Driller Win RMISA GS Qualifiers

Saturday, January 6, 2018 • by Brooke Frederickson, RMISA

BIG SKY, Mont.—Montana Stateís Garret Driller and Alaska Anchorageís Charley Field won the menís and womenís RMISA giant slalom qualifier races at Big Sky in Montana on Saturday afternoon.

It was the first career giant slalom win for Driller, who won a slalom race last season. Montana State placed all five of its menís alpine skiers in the top 10, as Jeffrey Bell finished third, Addison Dvoracek fourth, Morten Bakke eighth and Patrick Carry ninth. Coloradoís Ola Johnasen was also on the podium in second. Denver had two skiers in the top 10 in Nick Santaniello in sixth and Tanner Farrow in 10th. Also in the top 10 was New Mexicoís Tyler Theis (fifth) and Utahís Sam Dupratt (seventh).

For the women, it was Fieldís first career RMISA victory. She was joined on the podium by Utahís Ann-Kathrin Breuning, who was competing in her first race for the Utes after skiing three seasons for Westminster. She finished second overall. Kari Hole in third was one of three Montana State skiers in the top 10, joining Benedicte Lyche (sixth) and Stephanie Gartner (10th). Denver also had three skiers in the top 10 with Kristine Aasberg fifth, Tuva Norbye eighth and Amelia Smart ninth. Also in the top 10 was New Mexicoís Katharine Irwin in fourth and Coloradoís Tonje Trulsrud in seventh.

The RMISA alpine qualifier races do not count towards any team scoring and are used as an extra opportunity for skiers to earn qualification points for the NCAA Championships at the end of the season.

The alpine teams continue at Big Sky as the Montana State Invitational begins on Sunday, Jan. 7, with the menís and womenís giant slalom races. Live timing is available at

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek