2020 NCAA Championships (3/12)

Live Timing: Women's 5K FS | Men's 10K FS
Results: Women's GS | Men's GS


Alpine Opens The 2020 Season In Colorado

Thursday, January 9, 2020 • by Brooke Frederickson, RMISA

ASPEN, Colo.—The RMISA teams begin the 2020 season on Friday, Jan. 10, as the collegiate season opens with an RMISA giant slalom qualifier in Aspen, Colo., before the alpine portion of the Denver Invitational begins on Saturday, Jan. 11.

RMISA qualifiers do n>ot count towards any team scoring and are used as an extra opportunity for skiers to earn qualification points for the NCAA Championships at the end of the season. The Denver Invitational starts with the giant slalom on Saturday and follows with the slalom on Sunday. All three races will be held at Aspen Ski Resort, the first time the alpine teams will ski Aspen.

Utah and Denver have split the last four NCAA Championships, with the Utes winning in 2017 and 2019 and the Pioneers taking 2016 and 2018. Colorado's last title came in 2015. RMISA schools have won 58 of the 67 NCAA skiing championships held.

The Nordic teams begin competition on Jan. 18 at the Colorado Invitational.

Women's Skiers to Watch

  • Utah's Roni Remme finished second in both slalom and GS at NCAA Championships last season and is a five-time All-American. Eirin Engeset was second in the league with six podium finishes and earned All-America honors in the giant slalom.
  • Denver's Amelia Smart won the 2018 NCAA titles in both the slalom and giant slalom and is a three-time All-American. Andrea Komsic is a five-time All-American.
  • Utah's Remme and Denver's Smart both balance a World Cup schedule with the NCAA season.
  • Colorado's Mikaela Tommy won three races last season and earned All-America honors in both slalom and GS. Stef Fleckenstein earned All-America honors in the slalom last year.
  • Montana State picks up Haley Cutler, who transferred from New Mexico and has previously raced at the NCAA Championships. Trixie Lever has had some strong finishes in NorAms early in the season.
  • Alaska Anchorage's Rebecca Fiegl is a transfer from New Mexico and earned All-America honors in the slalom in 2018. Georgia Burgess and Li Djurestaal both competed at NCAA's last year.
  • Westminster's Anika Angriman and Giulia Lorini both skied at NCAA's for the Griffins last year.
  • Colorado Mountain's women's roster expands from one skier to four: Cheyenne Brown, Shiau-Tau Ciecierska, Lucienda Dillworth, Mary Kate Hackworthy.

Men's Skiers to Watch
  • Utah's Addison Dvoracek finished second in the league with four wins last season, all in the giant slalom. Joachim Lein had four podium finishes last year.
  • Denver's Simon Fournier, who also skis World Cup, led the league with five wins last year and was second at NCAA's in the giant slalom. Jett Seymour won the 2019 NCAA slalom title and Tobias Kogler is a two-time All-American in the slalom.
  • Colorado's Joey Young returns the most experience at Colorado, he won the slalom at Montana State last year and finished just outside of All-America honors.
  • Montana State's Louis Muhlen-Schulte earned All-America honors in slalom last year and finished on the podium three times. Aage Solheim also earned All-America honors in the slalom and was incredibly consistent with 10 top 10 finishes.
  • Alaska Anchorage's Liam Walace finished as the NCAA slalom runner up last season. Sky Kelsey earned a podium finish in the giant slalom at MSU last year.
  • Westminster's Martin Arene earned the first All-America honors in school history with a seventh-place GS finish at NCAA's last year.
  • Colorado Mountain skiers with the most experience include Garett Black and Harrison Goss.

© Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association. All Rights Reserved. Powered by StatsGeek